Accreditation process and documents

What is accreditation?

The primary purpose of state accreditation is to assure educational institutions, students, families, employers, and interested public that the institution operates with a high level of quality in education and is recognized by the Government.  

Accreditation is a process by which educational institutions and academic programmes are recognized for their performance, integrity, and quality that entitles them to the confidence of the educational community and the public. Accreditation is granted for a certain period and guarantees that the institution or academic programme has the necessary capacity to provide education for a definite time span.

Accreditation entails that the institution maintains the standards that endow its graduates to gain admission to other reputable institutions of higher learning or to achieve credentials for professional practice.

Both, institutional and academic programme accreditations are carried out in three consecutive phases:

  • First phase: self-evaluation (a written report of the institution’s internal review) conducted by the educational institution;
  • Second phase:  site visit carried out by an independent external expert panel;
  • Third phase: decision made by ANQA’s Accreditation Commission regarding the granting or denial of accreditation status.


How to apply?

An educational institution seeking accreditation status can apply to ANQA or other quality assurance agencies that are either registered on the European Quality Assurance Register (EQAR henceforth) or are full members of ENQA. Institutions implementing academic programmes with non-EHEA countries or branches of foreign institutions can apply to recognized accreditation agencies, the list of which is approved by the RA Minister of Education and Science. Any institution that has applied to an international accreditation organization must notify ANQA of the start of the accreditation process within five calendar days.  

ANQA accepts applications for accreditation throughout the whole year. Applications are submitted according to the format of application form set up by ANQA and the Board of Trustees.

The educational institution appoints a Contact Person to care for the organizational and technical issues, as well as to cooperate with ANQA. The Contact Person’s name and contact details are specified in the application.

It is mandatory for educational institutions applying for institutional accreditation to state those two educational programmes that will be introduced in the self-evaluation.

The procedure for the approval or rejection process of applications is adopted according to the Statute on Accreditation. 

 The approximate cost of the institutional  accreditation process in AMD

Preparatory costs of the site visit

1 415 000

Costs of the organization and implementation of the site visit (for 4 days)

1 832 000

Costs of the experts’ report  preparation

1 850 000

Organizational expenses  (for universities located in Yerevan)

870 000

Other costs

1 000 000


1 393 400


8 360 000




Accreditation Committee

The ANQA Accreditation Committee members  are proficient specialists and employers of different fields such as education, science, culture, economy and public administration.

The Accreditation Committee was formed in 2017. 

Samvel Avetisyan

Director of ASUE "Amberd" Research Center’s “Researches of national competitiveness and internationalization” project, Doctor of Economics, Professor

Nelli Hovhannisyan

Head of chair of Ecology and Nature Protection at YSU, director of Center of Excellence in Applied Biosciences at Yerevan State University, PHD in Biology

Susanna Karakhanyan

President of the International Network for Quality Assurance Agencies in Higher Education (INQAAHE), PHD in Social sciences

Samvel Shoukourian

Scientific Leader of IT Educational and Research Center, YSU, Head of YSU Information Systems Chair, Full Member of the National Academy of Sciences of Armenia, Doctor of Science in Physics and Mathematics, Professor

Ashot Saghyan

Director of Scientific and Production Center “Armbiotechnology” of National Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Armenia, State Nonprofit Organization, Head of the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Yerevan State University, Doctor of Chemistry, Academician of the National Academy of Sciences of Armenia

Mikayel Narimanyan

Head of chair at YSMU, Doctor of Medical sciences, Professor

Anna Yerzinkyan

Honored Art Worker of RA, Dean of faculty of Cinema, TV and Animation at YSITC, Professor

Ashot Melkonyan

Full member of NAS RA, doctor of History, Director of Institute of History

Andreas Melikyan

Head of Research Laboratory of Plant Genofond and Selection, Head of Plant growing chair at ANAU, Doctor of Agricultural Sciences, Professor

Marinka Baghdasaryan

Vice rector of NPUA, Doctor of Technical Sciences, Professor

Accreditation committee decisions

ANQA conclusions

Expert reports

Current accreditations